The Rwanda section has been archived. This organisation profile is no longer actively maintained and may not be accurate.
This page was translated by a computer. As such their may be significant errors in the text. To view the original English text click here

Contact this organisation

University Avenue, P.O BOX 201 Huye (Butare)
+250 252 530 523

Thematic areas

Conflict prevention and early warning
Human rights
Peace education
Transitional justice and reconciliation
Women, Peace and Security

Association Modeste et Innocent (AMI) a été créé en 2000 et est très impliqué dans la résolution des conflits et le processus de réconciliation au Rwanda. AMI est bien connu pour rassembler les auteurs de génocide ancien et rescapés du génocide pour une réconciliation vraie et franche.

AMI a été très engagé dans la résolution pacifique des conflits du Rwanda. Par exemple, après les procès Gacaca (processus local qui a acheté les auteurs de génocide devant la justice) au Rwanda, personnes reconnues coupables de la destruction et de pillage des biens pendant le génocide ont été condamnés à rembourser ce qu'ils ont pris/détruits. Cependant, la plupart d'entre eux est financièrement incapable et cela a soulevé de nombreux conflits sociaux comme de nombreux rwandais sont très pauvres. AMI propose une approche novatrice pour résoudre ce problème et permis de personnes traiter les problèmes de restitution sans utiliser des mesures coercitives.

Programmes

Promotion de la culture de la paix, gestion des conflits et réconciliation

Grâce à ce programme AMI facilite un processus de profonde réconciliation entre rwandais. Pour atteindre cet objectif, AMI travaille sur un processus de confiance et d'avoir un espace protégé d'expression - qui AMI voir comme les formalités requises pour entamer un dialogue social. Un accent particulier est placé sur la réconciliation entre les survivants du génocide et des gens qui ont servi le temps de prison pour crimes de génocide.

Programme de participation civique

Ce programme a pour objectif de renforcer l'engagement positif et l'efficacité des citoyens afin de jouer un rôle dans l'avenir économique, politique, sociale et culturelle de leur pays. AMI sensibilise les gens au sujet de la citoyenneté responsable, avec un accent particulier sur l'éducation des droits et devoirs du citoyen, le renforcement de la participation des citoyens dans l'identification des priorités et suivi de la mise en œuvre du budget national.

Programme de guérison de trauma

Ce programme offre de réadaptation psychosociale pour les personnes les plus vulnérables, y compris les survivants du génocide, des prisonniers et anciens prisonniers. L'IAM est utilise une approche axée sur la communauté de thérapie qui vise à impliquer l'ensemble de la communauté en prenant soin des gens.

Programme d'éducation de paix

Ce secteur d'intervention porte sur la nécessité pour la création d'une mentalité axée sur la paix au Rwanda. Il accorde une attention particulière aux jeunes par le biais de « Club dis, » qui représente un espace d'apprentissage pour l'art du dialogue et la recherche de solutions aux conflits par la négociation. Dans ce cadre, AMI travaille également pour réduire la violence familiale, afin de promouvoir l'égalité des sexes, pour le règlement des litiges fonciers et troubles conjugaux, en plus d'autres conflits qui perturbent l'harmonie dans la communauté.

Last updated: Octobre 2014

The Rwanda section has been archived. This organisation profile is no longer actively maintained and may not be accurate.

Contact this organisation

University Avenue, P.O BOX 201 Huye (Butare)
+250 252 530 523

Thematic areas

Conflict prevention and early warning
Human rights
Peace education
Transitional justice and reconciliation
Women, Peace and Security

Association Modeste et Innocent (AMI) was established in 2000 and is very involved in conflict resolution and the reconciliation process in Rwanda. AMI is well known for bringing together former genocide perpetrators and genocide survivors for true and frank reconciliation.

AMI has been very committed in the peaceful resolution of Rwanda's conflicts. For example, after the Gacaca trials (the local process that bought genocide perpetrators to justice) in Rwanda people found guilty of destroying and looting property during the genocide were ordered to pay back what they took/destroyed. However most of them are financially incapable and this raised many social conflicts as many Rwandans are very poor. AMI proposed an innovative approach to solve this problem and enabled people to handle restitution issues without using coercive measures.

Programmes

Promoting culture of peace, conflict management and reconciliation

Through this programme AMI is facilitating a deep reconciliation process between Rwandans. To achieve this goal, AMI is working on a process of confidence-building and having a protected space of expression - which AMI see as the necessary requirements to start a social dialogue. Particular emphasis is placed on reconciliation between genocide survivors and people who have served time in prison for genocide crimes.

Civic participation program

This programme has the objective of strengthening the positive commitment and effectiveness of citizens to play a part in the economic, political, social and cultural future of their country. AMI educates people about responsible citizenship, with a particular stress on the education of rights and duties of the citizen, the reinforcement of citizens’ participation in the identification of priorities and follow-up of the implementation of the national budget.

Trauma healing program

This programme provides psychosocial rehabilitation to the most vulnerable, including survivors of genocide, prisoners and ex-prisoners. AMI uses a community-based approach of therapy which aims at getting the whole community involved in taking care of people.

Peace education program

This area of intervention addresses the need for the creation of a mentality geared towards peace in Rwanda. It pays special attention to young people through its "Club Speak," which represents a learning space for the art of dialogue and the search for the solutions to conflicts through negotiation. Within this framework, AMI also works to reduce domestic violence, to promote gender equality, to settle land disputes and marital strife as well as other conflicts which disturb harmony in the community.

Last updated: October 2014