Restrict search to:
X
Language:
Ukraine

Ukraine: Conflict profile

[Légende id = « attachment_50124 » align = « aligncenter » width = « 580 »] The Ukrainian capital Kiev saw months of protests during the winter of 2013/2014. Image credit: Ivan Bandura. Capitale de l'Ukraine Kiev vu mois de protestations au cours de l'hiver 2013/2014. Crédit image : Mykhailo Liapine. / [caption]

L'Ukraine a vu un affrontement militaire et politique depuis l'automne 2013. Une « révolution de la dignité » a été suivie d'un référendum contesté et l' annexion de la République autonome de Crimée par la Russie en mars 2014. Des combats entre l'armée et des groupes armés dans les régions de Donetsk et de Louhansk d'Ukraine orientale, appelée le Donbass, mène depuis plus de 7 000 morts et 1,5 millions de personnes déplacées.

Le déclenchement immédiat pour le conflit a été l'enlèvement du Président Viktor Ianoukovitch de ses fonctions en février 2014 comme le point culminant du mouvement Euromaidan . Cela a notamment vu mois de protestations à Kiev et a entraîné beaucoup de morts parmi les manifestants et les forces de sécurité gouvernementales.

Après l'éviction de m. Ianoukovitch, agitation politique est ensuite étendue sur une grande partie de l'Ukraine orientale. L'organisation d'un référendum et le soutien qui aurait été fourni par la Russie, a permis des mouvements séparatistes dans ces régions à lancer une rébellion militaire, qui nominalement a pris fin avec L'accord de Minsk en février 2015. Toutefois, le cessez-le-feu a été rompu à plusieurs reprises, et continue de la violence armée.

Last updated: Octobre 2017

Ukraine: peacebuilding resources

Restrict search to:
X
Language:
Ukraine

Ukraine: Conflict profile

Ukraine has seen military and political confrontation since autumn 2013. A 'Revolution of Dignity' was followed by a disputed referendum in and the annexation of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea by Russia in March 2014. Fighting between the National Army and armed groups in the Luhansk and Donetsk areas of Eastern Ukraine, known as the Donbass, has since led to more than 7,000 deaths and 1.5 million people being displaced.

The immediate trigger for the conflict was the removal of then-President Viktor Yanukovych from office in February 2014 as the culmination of the Euromaidan movement. This saw months of protests in Kiev in particular, and led to many deaths among protesters and government security forces.

Following the ouster of Yanukovych, political agitation then spread across much of eastern Ukraine. The referendum, and the support allegedly provided by Russia, allowed separatist movements in these regions to to launch a military rebellion, which nominally ended with the Minsk Agreement in February 2015. However, the ceasefire has been repeatedly broken, and armed violence continues.

Last updated: April 2015

Ukraine peacebuilding resources